blog image
  • By : James Palicdon
  • Oct 24, 2017


With the theme: “Reminiscing the years for a better BENECO”, the Benguet Electric Cooperative, Inc. celebrated its founding anniversary last October 6, 2017 at the new BENECO Headquarters, South Drive, Baguio City.

Congressman Mark Go of the Lone District of Baguio graced the occasion as the guest speaker. In his message, he reiterated his continuous support to BENECO, knowing how the electric cooperative struggled to be where it is now. He recognized the challenge of energizing BENECO’s franchise area considering its mountainous terrain. Congressman Go recollected the experiences of BENECO with humble beginnings, up to what it is now, an EC to be emulated.

He goes on to remind and embolden each one to be true to BENECO’s core values, giving explicit examples. From teamwork, punctuality, courtesy, honesty, reliability, productivity, commitment and loyalty, he illustrated the ideal for a BENECO employee.

BENECO was granted a franchise to operate an electric and power service in the City of Baguio and the 13 Municipalities of Benguet on March 20, 1978. It was duly organized and registered as a non-stock, non-profit service oriented entity on October 5, 1973.

To highlight its 44 years of existence, a simple and invigorating program was held at the Gen. Pedro G. Dumol Hall. Rev. Fr. AbnerDalilisofficiated the Eucharistic celebration before the start of the program. Messages were delivered by the LMC SSC Chairman, ArtemioBacoco, by the Board President, Dir. Rocky Aliping and GM Gerardo P. Verzosa. Atty. Esteban A. Somngi, Board of Director of District 1 introduced the guest speaker, Honorable Marquez “Mark” O. Go, the Representative of the Lone District of Baguio.

Awarding and recognition of service awardees followed the program. The longest service awardees for this year are Mr. Leonardo G. Belingon, Membership and Consumer Welfare Officer, Ms.Blandina B. Ancheta, Teller, and Mr. Leonardo Buslayan, Meter Reader, all for 35 years in service. There were 4 awardees for 30 years, 8 for 25 years, 4 for 15 years, 30 for 10 years and 6 with five years’ service.